First Bank

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Ranking Member, Funmi Tejuosho Sparks Conflict In Lagos Assembly With Rejection Of Committee Chair

A ranking member of the Lagos State House of Assembly and former Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Adefunmilayo Tejuosho, rejected the chairmanship of a committee given her by House as read out by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa.

The Speaker had announced Tejuosho as the Chairman Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights, Public Petitions and LASEIC which the female lawmaker felt she was not comfortable with, thereby rejecting it.

Though she openly rejected the chairmanship of the committee by making the announcement at the chamber, it was learnt that she is not alone in this protest. Funmi Tejuosho was the Chairman House Committee on Finance in the 7th Lagos Assembly.

The drama happened after the Majority Leader of the House had called for an adjournment till next week Monday because of the town hall meeting which all the lawmakers would be holding with their constituents on Tuesday 10th of November, 2015.

Just before he rose from his seat, the Speaker brought out a notebook, where the names of the committee chairmen had been listed.

After reminding the lawmakers that he recently announced committees of the House, Obasa emphasised the importance of oversight functions as part of the duties of the Assembly.

He disclosed that he was announcing the chairmen of the committees, but advised that “the committees should be used in the interest of the government, the people, the state and the House and not for pecuniary reasons.”

The committees and the chairmen are as follows:

•Selection Committee,  chaired by Speaker Obasa Mudashiru Ajayi

•Business Rules and Standing Orders, chaired by the Majority Leader, Sanai Agunbiade

•Ethics, Protocols and Privileges to be chaired by Hon. Rotimi Abiru

•House Service to be chaired by Rasheed Makinde

•Public Accounts (State) to be chaired by Moshood Oshun

•Public Accounts (Local) to be chaired by Bisi Yusuff

•Agriculture to be chaired by Kazeem Raheem.

•Economic Planning and Budget to be chaired by Rotimi Olowo.

•Education to be chaired by Lanre Ogunyemi

•Science and Technology to be chaired by Nurudeen Solaja

•Establishment, Training and Pension to be chaired by Adedayo Famakinwa

•Energy and Mineral Resources to be chaired by Folajimi Mohammed

•Waterfront Infrastructure Development to be chaired by Gbolahan Yishawu

•Physical Planning and Urban Development to be chaired by Setonji David

•Transportation to be chaired by Fatai Mojeed

•Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives to be chaired by Oladele Adekanye

•Women Affairs and Poverty alleviation to be chaired by Moji Lawal

•Works and Infrastructure to be chaired by Tobun Abiodun

•Wealth Creation and Employment to be chaired by Sola Giwa

•Finance to be chaired by Yinka Ogundimu

•Health to be chaired by Segun Olulade

•Home Affairs to be chaired by Olayiwola Olawale

•Tourism, Arts and Culture to be chaired by Desmond Olusola Elliot

•Youths and Social Development to be chaired by Kasunmu Adedamola

•Judiciary, Human Rights, Public Petitions, LASIEC to be chaired by Adefunmilayo Tejuosho.

•Lands to be chaired by Bayo Oshinowo

•Housing to be chaired by Ibrahim Layode

•Information and Strategy to be chaired by Tunde Buraimoh

•Central Business District to be chaired by Victor Akande

•Special Duties and Inter-governmental Relations to be chaired by Sokunle Hakeem

•Local Government and Community Affairs to be chaired by Kazeem Alimi

No comments:

Post a Comment