First Bank

Thursday, February 25, 2016

Nduka Obaigbena Sacks 50% Staff As Part Of Moves To Strengthen Newspaper

Prince Nduka Obaigbena, Publisher/ Chairman of Thisday has taken a bold step due to the current economic downturn to re-organize some titles as well as technically sacking loads of staff.

In a memo he sent two days ago, Obaigbena, fondly called the Duke of modern journalism moved the influential Ruth Osime and Ijeoma Nwogwugwu from their editorial positions to management. While Kola Ologbondiyan, estwhile Special Adviser to former Senate President, David Mark returns as Editor, Thisday Digital.

The new appointments are as follows:
Ms. Ijeoma Nwogwugwu promoted as Executive Director and joins the Board of Directors;
2. Mrs Mbayilan Andoaka promoted as Divisional Director, Digital;
3. Mr. Anthony Ogendegbe promoted as Divisional Director, Advertising & Marketing;
4. Ms. Ruth Osime, promoted as Fashion Director/Executive Editor, Style;
5. Funke Babs-Kufeji promoted as Style Editor, Print Edition
6. Konye Nwabogor promoted as Style Editor, Digital
7. Nduka Moseri promoted as Financial Controller
8. Uchenna Dibiagwu promoted as Financial Controller
9. Mr Abimbola Taiwo promoted as Financial Controller
10. Mr Kola Ologbondiyan now Editor, THISDAY Digital
11. Mr. Patrick Ugeh promoted as Deputy Editor, THISDAY Digital
12. Mr. Bolaji Adebiyi confirmed as Deputy Editor, THISDAY Newspapers
13. Mr Tobi Shoniyi promoted Deputy Editor, Nation’s Capital
14. Mr Senator Iroegbu promoted Senior Correspondent

The memo addressed to Eniola Bello, Kayode Komolafe, Emmanuel Efeni, Ijeoma Nwogwugwu, Tokunbo Adedoja and Shaka Momodu also sent out a list of staff that he considered authentic.

His memo titled VERY IMPORTANT STAFF NOTICE, read: “Dear All: Following a continuous and continuing spot check which climaxed today on LAGOS staff on duty and working, please find below a list of bonafide NON–EDITORIAL LAGOS STAFF of THISDAY NEWSPAPERS.
“The spot check will continue in ALL THISDAY locations.

“Those not on the list below cease to be staff of the company except they show with documentary evidence why they were not, and have not been at work.

“Editorial Staff have to show work with proof of stories filed and published tonight.

“Therefore only those listed below will be on the next payroll. If not listed, please conclude your disengagement process with the Admin department.​

“A. Account Department:
1. Akiemughu Ezekiel
2. Olurebi Abiola Yusuf
3. Kasali Ganiyu
4. Arole Olawale
5.Alex Egberughe
6. Sambo Mohammed
7. Ngboken Odonzi
8. Sunday Adofu
9. Charles Afambu
10. Dibiagwu Uchenna
11. Amao K. Abisola
12. Raufiu Shina
13. Ariori Kamilu
14. Peter Iwegbu
15. Olufemi Aborowa.

“B. Computer Department:
1. Oku Ejiro
2. Balogun Olaitan

“C. Editorial (Photo Desk)
1. Yomi Akinyele
2. Kolawole Alli
3. Mubo Peters
4. Sunday Adigun

“D. Admin Department:
1. Adedapo Olojo
2. Megbolu Innocent
3. Emmanuel Efeni

“E. Advert Department:
1. Umoren Paulinus
2. Ogochukwu Eseka
3. Odeh Williams
4. Okwuise Ngozi
5. Ogedengbe Anthony
“F. Engineering Department:
1. Abdulmumuni Momoh
2. Peter Amoh
3. Emmanuel Hope
4. Adah Francis
5. Balogun Idris
6. Adewoyin Folakemi.

1. Ogunleye George
2. T.J Dennis Madu
3. Judith Ehireme
4. Michael Okeke
5. Ojogun Danboyi
6. Mbayilan Aindo – Akaa

“H. Pre-press Department:
1. Funke Amobi
2. Scoot Orwell

“I. Printers:
1. Adedayo Adebiyi
2. Aina Adekunle
3. Badmus Semiu
4. Chuks Okonkwo
5. Akintunde Isaac
6. Sunday Etuonu

“J. Editorial Department:
1. Davidson Iriekpen
2. Martins Ifijeh
3. Funke Olaode
4. Crusoe Osagie
5. Roland Ogbonnnaya
6. Abiodun Ajala
7. Sunday Okonbi

“K. Office of Chairman:
1. Ayo Arowolo

“L. Legal Department:
1. Okwuchi Nwaamaka Chukwuma

“M. Executive Floor:
1. Alailedoye Bunmi

“N. Security Department:
1. Omotosho Abiola
2. Lovey Asuquo Essang
3. Nwachukwu Eugene
4. Samuel Alaku
5. Ebhoma Lucky
6. Abu Stephen

“O. Procurement Department:
1. Joseph Ebere

“P. Transport Department:
1. Benjamin Faloye
2. Hassan Afeez
3. Adebayo Kayode
4. Abdullah Alaran
5. Oluwashola Ayeni
6. Akintayo Ademigoke
7. Oladele Sunday
8. Lanre Akande

“Q. Press Attendant/Inserter
1. Erinle David
2. Olaojo Tunde
3. Abazu Ugochukwu
4. Dada Ezekiel
5. Chigozie Abalum
6. Lawal Kehinde
7. Mbah Kalu
8. Kolawole Ebietomiye
9. Kunle Seun
9. Wahab Tope.

1. Eniola Bello
2. Kayode Komolafe
3. Ijeoma Nwogwugwu.

The memo requested the Accounts Department to present a new pay roll that includes only the staff above.

Furthermore, there was no word on the fate of all the staff of its every Sunday Pullouts, Thisday Style and Glitterati.

No comments:

Post a Comment